Practical guide

Free photo booth apps for iPad: trials, watermarks and caps

Photo booth app for iPad free options: which vendors offer a free trial or free account, the watermark and upload limits, and the cheapest paid step.

Last materially reviewed 2026-10-03

Quick answerNo vendor read for this guide lists a permanent free plan without a watermark. Breeze Booth has a trial with no time limit but watermarked output. Curator Live has a free account with a demo watermark. Simple Booth, Snappic and Touchpix offer timed trials. MoveBooth's 7-day trial needs a payment method.

Photo booth app for iPad free: what is on offer

Free here means a trial or a marked-up free account, not a free plan you can run a real event on. MoveBooth's own comparison page says no major platform has a permanent free tier for production events, and nothing in the vendor pages read for this guide contradicts that.

The useful question is which free option lets you test long enough, and what it holds back.

Free options by vendor and what each one limits

Terms as read on 3 October 2026. Vendors can change them.

  • Breeze Booth: trial is fully featured and not time restricted. The vendor says output is watermarked after 10 sessions daily.
  • Curator Live: free account with a demo watermark, plus a free 14 day trial without the watermark.
  • Simple Booth: 7-day free trial, no credit card, with a 15 photo per day upload cap and 25 complimentary account credits.
  • Snappic: 14-day free trial, no credit card required.
  • Touchpix: 14-day free trial.
  • LumaBooth: free trial with no credit card. The length is not stated on the vendor's page.
  • Booth.Events: free trial offered. Terms are not stated on the vendor's page.
  • MoveBooth: 7-day free trial on every software plan. A payment method is required and the trial converts to paid unless cancelled.

Whether a free option can cover a real event

For a practice run, yes. For guests, usually not. A watermark on every photo, or a 15 photo per day cap, will show up fast at a party.

Simple Booth's own pricing page makes the same point: it suggests a weekly plan if you need the app for an event. A 14-day trial without a watermark, such as Curator Live's, is the closest thing to a free event in the pages read, but check the trial terms yourself before you rely on it.

A timed trial has a second cost: it ends. If your event is three weeks away, a 7-day or 14-day trial started today will have run out. Plan the start date around the rehearsal.

The cheapest paid step up

If the free option falls short, these were the lowest published paid prices for iPad. Two of them are only cheap on certain terms. Touchpix's rate is billed for the full year up front, and its entry plan covers photos, GIFs and Photo AI but not video. Simple Booth Lite is sold by the week, so it suits one event better than a season.

  • Simple Booth Lite: $15/week, sold through the App Store only.
  • LumaBooth for Apple: $19.99 for a month, or $18/month on an annual plan.
  • Touchpix PhotoPass: $22/month, billed annually at $263.94.
  • Curator Live Standard: $29 for a single event.
  • Breeze Booth: $49/month per device.
  • MoveBooth Lite: $49.99/month.

MoveBooth's trial has a catch to plan around

MoveBooth is not the pick for someone who wants to pay nothing. Its trial asks for a payment method up front and rolls into a paid plan after seven days. Cancelling during the trial ends access right away with no charge. Software subscriptions are non-refundable once active.

There is one longer route: buying the $2,499 kiosk hardware includes a 30-day Pro trial with no payment method required. The MoveBooth free trial guide covers the steps. The app also comes through Apple's TestFlight by install link, so you cannot just download it from the App Store to look around.

How to get the most from a trial week

Start the trial close to a rehearsal date, not weeks before. Build the real template, take ten test sessions, and send yourself a photo by every sharing route you plan to use. If you need prints, test the printer during the trial too. For full plan prices beyond the entry tier, see what photo booth software costs.

Keep a note of the trial end date and what happens on it. Snappic and Simple Booth say no credit card is needed, so there is nothing to charge when those trials end. MoveBooth's converts to a paid plan. If you are comparing apps for a home party, the party booth app guide narrows the list.

Continue when useful

Next: MoveBooth free trial

How the MoveBooth free trial works: 7 days, payment method required, TestFlight install, plus a checklist of what to test before you are charged.

Open MoveBooth free trial →

Sources used for this page

These records support the facts and comparisons above. Merchant-controlled records are labelled so you can separate product claims from independent evidence.

  1. Breeze Booth product page — Alternative provider · breezesoftware.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  2. Curator Live pricing page — Alternative provider · curatorlive.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  3. Simple Booth plans and pricing page — Alternative provider · simplebooth.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  4. Snappic pricing page — Alternative provider · snappic.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  5. Touchpix pricing page — Alternative provider · touchpix.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  6. LumaBooth home page — Alternative provider · dslrbooth.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  7. LumaBooth pricing page — Alternative provider · dslrbooth.com · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  8. Booth.Events pricing page — Alternative provider · booth.events · Publisher independence not verified · checked 2026-10-03
  9. MoveBooth pricing page — Merchant documentation · movebooth.com · Merchant-controlled · checked 2026-10-03
  10. MoveBooth photo booth software comparison page — Merchant documentation · movebooth.com · Merchant-controlled · checked 2026-10-03